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·~ NCDENR 
North Carolina Department of Environment and Natural Resources 

Pat McCrory 
Governor 

July 21; 2014 

GREGORY SIMPSON 
FORMER JOHN DEERE FACILITY - GASTONIA 
40 WESTMINSTER ST 
PROVIDENCE, R1 02903 

Dear NC. Hazardous Waste Facility Contact: 

John E. Skvarla, Ill 
Secretary 

Thank you for your ongoing interest in the NC Hazardous Waste Program. Our records indicate that your facility 
is an active hazardous waste generator, transporter, storer, treater and/or disposer. Pursuant to N.C.G.S . § 
130A-294.1, hazardous waste facilities are required to pay an annual hazardous waste fee to support government 
programs that ensure the safe management of hazardous waste. The applicable regulatory requirements for 
hazardous waste management can be found in the North Carolina Solid Waste Management Act, N.C.G.S . 
Chapter 130A, Article 9 ("the Act"), and the North Carolina Hazardous Waste Management Rules, 15A NCAC 
Subchapter 13A ("the Rules"). To view the Act and Rules, please visit our website at 
http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/wmlhw (select Rules and Regulations). Thanks to everyone's efforts, significant 
strides in waste minimization have been achieved over the past decade. In the interest of reducing paperwork 
burdens, the questionnaire will no longer be included in the invoices. However, LQG and SQG facilities are 
welcome to describe waste minimization accomplishments in a format of their own choosing. 

Attached please find your 2014 Hazardous Waste Invoice with special attention given to the following: 
../ The State ofNorth Carolina's fiscal year begins 07/01 /2014 and ends 06/30/2015 . 
../ Your payment is due 30 days from the date of the invoice . 
../ A 10% late-payment penalty has been assessed for unpaid Fiscal Year 2013 annual fees . 
../ If you are an LQG or TSD, we have added the tonnage "generated" and/or "received" from your 2013 

Hazardous Waste Biennial Report submission . 
../ Please return a copy of the invoice along with your payment and include your EPA ID and invoice # on 

your check. 
../ If there are changes to your facility information (status, contact name/address, NAICS, waste codes, etc.), 

please submit a signed completed EPA Site Identification 8700-12 Form along with your payment. 

If you have any questions, please contact Patricia Davalos, Supervisor, at 919-707-823 3 or Sherry Prince at 
919-707-8232. Thank you, in advance, for your prompt attention to this matter. 

Sincerely, 

Julie Woosley, Chief 
Hazardous Waste Section 

1646 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1646 
Phone: 919-707-8200 \ Internet: http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/wm 

An Equal Opportunity \Affirmative Action Employer. Made in part by recycled Paper 
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North Carolina c:Bpartrrent of Environrrent and Natural Resources 
Division of Waste Management 2014 INVOICE 
Hazardous WC£te Section 

FACILITY LOCATION ADDRESS: 

ATTENTION: ACCOUNTS PAYABLE GREGORY SIMPSON 

FORMER JOHN DEERE FACILITY- GASTONIA 
40 WESTMINSTER ST 

FORMER JOHN DEERE FACILITY- GASTONIA 
3800 LITTLE MOUNTAIN RD 

PROVIDENCE, Rl 02903 GASTONIA, NC 28052 

FACILITY EPA ID·# INVOICE# INVOICE DATE AMOUNT DUE DUE DATE ENTER AMOUNT PAID 

NCD091249417 HW61457 07/21/2014 $ 1,680.00 08/20/2014 

A. Fee Requirements: Pursuant to North Carolina General Statute 130A-294. 1, a Facility must pay fee(s) based on its 
hazardous waste management activities. The fees are used to support government programs that ensure the safe 
management of hazardous waste. Failure to pay the required fees could result in an enforcement action with a penalty. 

B. Invoice amount is based on the registered status as of the invoice date and includes any past-due balances. A 1 0% 
late-payment penalty has been assessed for Fiscal Year 2013 if the annual fee was not paid by June 30, 2014. 

C. If Fiscal Year 2014 annual fees are not paid by June 30 2015, the facility must pay a late-payment penalty of 10% of the 
total amount due. 

D. In accordance with N.C.G.S. § 147-86.23, a facility may petition for waiver of any late-payment penalty but the Hazardous 
Waste Section will only grant a waiver for good cause shown. 

FACILITY STATUS FEE TONNAGE AMOUNT DUE 

DISPOSER $1680.00 --------- $1,680.00 

PAST DUE $0.00 

CREDIT $0.00 

TOTAL AMOUNT DUE $1,680.00 

E. Remit Payment (include a copy of this invoice): 

Make checks payable to N.C. Hazardous Waste Section, include EPA ID# and Invoice# on check. If you are 
paying by electronic transfer, include the invoice number with your electronic transfer. Please note per NC General 
Statute (G .S. 25-3-506) , a $25.00 processing fee will be charged on all returned checks. Please return a copy 
of this invoice with your payment to: 

F. Hazardous Waste Contacts: 

1. BILLING: 

ATTN: PATRICIA DAVALOS 
NC HAZARDOUS WASTE SECTION 
1646 MAIL SERVICE CENTER 
RALEIGH, NC 27699-1646 

2. SITE ID 8700-12 NOTIFICATIONS: 

Sherry Prince 

Melodi Deaver 

Ray Strawbridge 

Patricia Davalos 

(919) 707-8232 
(919) 707-8204 
(919) 707-8231 

(919) 707-8233 

3. TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE: 

4. SUPERVISOR: 
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G. Update Your Information: 

If your generator status or the facility contact person has changed, you must notify the North Carolina Hazardous Waste Section 
of these changes by submitting an EPA Form 8700-12 (RCRA Subtitle C Site Identification Form). EPA Identification Numbers 
are site specific, if your facility's physical location changes, you must inactivate the old and apply for a new number. Form 
8700-12 can be obtained by contacting Melodi Deaver at 919-707-8204 or you can download this form by using the web page 
address: http://epa.gov/epawastelinforesources/data/form8700/forms.htm 

H. Who is Required to Pay? 

BY LAW you are required to pay the fee(s) when your company has notified that it is a generator, transporter, treater, starer or 
disposer of hazardous waste as defined below. 

Large Quantity Generator ($1 ,400.00): A facility who generates one kilogram or more of acute hazardous waste or 1,000 
kilograms or more of hazardous waste in any calendar month du_r:ing the year beginning July 1 and ending June 3o. Large 
Quantity Generators are also required to pay an additional fee of $0 .70 per ton, or any part thereof, for hazardous waste 
generated during the calendar year up to a maximum of 25,000 tons. Note: Large Quantity Generators must determine how 
much waste was generated in the 2013 calendaryear. The calculated tonnage is entered in the table located on the 
front of this invoice. To calculate the amount due, multiply the amount generated by $0.70 . 

Small Quantity Generator ($175.00) : A facility who generates 100 kilograms or more of hazardous waste but less than 1,000 
kilograms in any calendar month during the year beginning July 1 and ending June 30 . 

Transporter ($840.00): A facility that transports hazardous waste . 

Treater, Storer or Disposer ($1 ,680.00 each): A treatment, storage , or disposal facility shall pay an annual activity fee for each 
activity. Note: A commercial hazardous waste storage, treatment, or disposal facility is also required to pay an additional fee of 
$2.45 per ton, or any part thereof of hazardous waste stored, treated , or disposed of at the facility during the 2013 
calendar year. 

I. Where Can I Obtain Information? 

1. The Division of Waste Management's Web Page: http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/wm/hw 

2. Rules, Regulations and the General Statutes: http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/wm/hw/rules/statelaws 

3. Notification of Regulated Waste Activity (EPA Form 8700-12) : 
http://epa.gov/epawaste/inforesources/data/form8700/forms.htm 

J. Useful Publications on the Internet: 

1. Hazardous Waste Requirements for Large Quantity Generators (EPA: 530-F-96-032) : 
http://epa.gov/osw/hazard/downloads/lqgpdf.pdf 

2. Compliance Manual for Generators of Hazardous Waste (Compliance Branch , Hazardous Waste Section): 
http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/wm/hw/technical/traininglqg 

3. Managing Your Hazardous Waste: A Guide for Small Businesses (EPA: 530-K-01-005) : 
http://www.epa.gov/epawaste/hazard/generation/sqg/handbook/k01 005.pdf 

.. 
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