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Mr. Alan Skrzypczak

Facility Manager

Stericycle, Inc.

Post Office Box 310

Haw River, North Carolina 27258

Dear Mr. Skrzypczak:

SUBJECT: Air Quality Permit No. 05896T24
Facility ID: 04/01/00010
Stericycle, Inc.
Haw River
Alamance County
Fee Class: Title V

In accordance with your completed Air Quality Permit Application for modification and in
accordance with 15A NCAC 02Q .0517 the NCDAQ moves to reopen for cause Air Quality Permit No.
05896T23 and herewith forwards Air Quality Permit No. 05896T24 to Stericycle, Inc. 1168 Porter Avenue,
Haw River, North Carolina authorizing the construction and operation, of the emission source(s) and
associated air pollution control device(s) specified herein. Additionally, any emissions activities determined
from your Air Quality Permit Application as being insignificant per 15A North Carolina Administrative
Code 2Q .0503(8) have been listed for informational purposes as an "ATTACHMENT." Please note the
requirements for the annual compliance certification are contained in General Condition P in Section 3. The
current owner is responsible for submitting a compliance certification for the entire year regardless of who
owned the facility during the year.

As the designated responsible official it is your responsibility to review, understand, and abide by
all of the terms and conditions of the attached permit. It is also your responsibility to ensure that any
person who operates any emission source and associated air pollution control device subject to any term
or condition of the attached permit reviews, understands, and abides by the condition(s) of the attached
permit that are applicable to that particular emission source.

Pursuant to NCGS 150B-23 and 15A N.C.A.C. 02Q .0308 a person aggrieved by the issuance of this Air
Quality Permit has the right to request a formal adjudicatory hearing within 30 days following receipt of
this permit, identifying the specific issues to be contested. Any such right of appeal is subject to the terms
of the settlement agreement executed by you and the Division of Air Quality on November 6, 2015. This
hearing request must be in the form of a written petition, conforming to NCGS (North Carolina General
Statutes) 150B-23, and filed with both the Office of Administrative Hearings, 6714 Mail Service Center,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-6714 and the Division of Air Quality, Permitting Section, 1641 Mail Service
Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1641. The form for requesting a formal adjudicatory hearing may
be obtained upon request from the Office of Administrative Hearings. Please note that this permit will be

1601 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1601
Phone: 919-707-8600 \ Internet: www.ncdenr,gov

Aa Fmial Nonncdiinilio b Affcmnntlin Aadine Fanalaoas Mada ln nn

inlad wmnan


lfrost
New Stamp


Mr. Alan Skrzypczak
November 6, 2015
Page 2

stayed in its entirety upon receipt of the request for a hearing. Unless a request for a hearing is made pursuant
to NCGS 150B-23, this Air Quality Permit shall be final and binding 30 days after issuance.

You may request modification of your Air Quality Permit through informal means pursuant to
NCGS 150B-22. This request must be submitted in writing to the Director and must identify the specific
provisions or issues for which the modification is sought. Please note that this Air Quality Permit will
become final and binding regardless of a request for informal modification unless a request for a hearing is
also made under NCGS 150B-23.

The construction of new air pollution emission source(s) and associated air pollution control
device(s), or modifications to the emission source(s) and air pollution control device(s) described in this
permit must be covered under an Air Quality Permit issued by the Division of Air Quality prior to
construction unless the Permittee has fulfilled the requirements of GS 143-215.108A(b) and received
written approval from the Director of the Division of Air Quality to commence construction. Failure to
receive an Air Quality Permit or written approval prior to commencing construction is a violation of GS
143-215.108 A and may subject the Permittee to civil or criminal penalties as described in GS 143-215.114A
and 143-215.114B.

The PSD minor baseline dates has been triggered for Alamance County, for PMio and SO»
emissions, however this modification due to reopen for cause did not trigger any increment increase.

This Air Quality Permit shall be effective from November 6, 2015, until January 31, 2016, is
nontransferable to future owners and operators, and shall be subject to the conditions and limitations as
specified therein.

Should you have any questions concerning this matter, please contact Gautam Patnaik, at (919)
707-8735.

Sincerely,

W0 it

William D. Willets, P.E., Chief, Permitting Section
Division of Air Quality, NCDEQ

Enclosure

c: Winston-Salem Regional Office
Heather Ceron, EPA Region 4
Central Files



ATTACHMENT to Permit No. 05896T24

Insignificant Activities under 15A NCAC 2Q .0503(8)

Emission Source ID Emission Source Description
No.
I-CT-1 and I-CT-2 Two cooling towers (55,200 gallons per hour

water recirculation rate each)

1. Because an activity is insignificant does not mean that the activity is exempted from an
applicable requirement or that the owner or operator of the source is exempted from
demonstrating compliance with any applicable requirement.

2. When applicable, emissions from stationary source activities identified above shall be included in
determining compliance with the permit requirements for toxic air pollutants under 15A NCAC 2D .1100
“Control of Toxic Air Pollutants” or 2Q .0711 “Emission Rates Requiring a Permit”.

3. For additional information regarding the applicability of GACT see the DAQ page titled “The Regulatory
Guide for Insignificant Activities/Permits Exempt Activities”. The link to this site is as follows:
http://daq.state.nc.us/permits/insig/




ATTACHMENT to Permit No. 05896124

Table of changes made in this permit.

Page(s) | Section | Description of Change(s)
HMIWI - UNIT 1
5 21A.1.b.(1) Changed maximum charge rate from 1,952.6 to 2,092.0
pounds per hour for Unit 1 (ID No. ES01)
5 2.1 A. 1.b. (4) table Changed maximum charge rate from 1,952.6 to 2,092.0
particulate matter pounds per hour and minimum pressure drop across venturi
scrubber from 40.0 to 39.0 inches W.C. for Unit 1 (ID No.
ESO01)
6 2.1 A. 1. b. (4) table Changed maximum charge rate from 1,952.6 to 2,092.0
CO emissions pounds per hour and minimum secondary chamber
temperature from 1,795.5°F to 1,762.8°F for Unit 1 (ID No.
ES01)
6 2.1 A. 1.b. (4) table Changed maximum charge rate of from 1,952.6 to 2,092.0
dioxin/furan pounds per hour, minimum secondary chamber temperature
from 1,795.5°F to 1,762.8°F and minimum venturi scrubber
liquor flow rate from 65.8 to 65.2 gallons per minute for Unit
1 (ID No. ES01)
6 2.1 A. 1. b. (4) table Changed maximum charge rate from 1,952.6 to 2,092.0
HCL pounds per hour and minimum packed bed scrubber liquor
from a pH of 4.15 to 4.10 for Unit 1 (ID No. ESO1)
6 2.1 A. 1. b. (4) table Changed maximum charge rate from 1,952.6 to 2,092.0
Mercury pounds per hour and maximum flue gas temperature from
133.7°F to 168.1°F for Unit 1 (ID No. ES01)
6 2.1 A. 1. b. (4) table Changed urea as a reagent with a minimum injection rate of
NO« 1.1 gallons per hour (gph), ammonia of 1.0 gph.
HMIWI - UNIT 2
5 21A.1.b.(1) Changed maximum charge rate from 2,091.9 to 2,093.1
pounds per hour Unit 2 (ID No. ES02).
6 2.1 A. 1.b. (4) table Changed maximum charge rate from 2,091.9 to 2,093.1
particulate matter pounds per hour and minimum pressure drop across the
venturi scrubber from 40.1 to 38.9 inches W.C. for Unit 2 (ID
No. ES02)
6 2.1 A.1.b. (4) table Changed maximum charge rate from 2,091.9 to 2,093.1
CO emissions pounds per hour and minimum secondary chamber
temperature from 1,798.2°F to 1,759.5°F for Unit 2 (ID No.
ES02)
6 2.1 A. 1.b. (4) table Changed maximum charge rate from 2,091.9 to 2,093.1
dioxin/furan pounds per hour, minimum secondary chamber temperature
from 1,798.2°F to 1,759.5°F and minimum venturi scrubber
liquor flow rate from 66.0 to 66.7 gallons per minute for Unit
2 (ID No. ES02)
6 2.1 A. 1.b.(4) table Changed maximum charge rate from 2,091.9 to 2,093.1
HCL pounds per hour and minimum packed bed scrubber liquor
pH of 3.6 to 4.1for Unit 2 (ID No. ES02)
6 2.1 A. 1.b. (4) table Changed maximum charge rate from 2,091.9 to 2,093.1
Mercury pounds per hour and maximum flue gas temperature from
134.30F to 164.10F for Unit 2 (ID No. ES02)
6 2.1 A. 1.b. (4) table Changed urea as a reagent with a minimum injection rate of
NO« 1.2 gallons per hour (gph), ammonia of 1.0 gph.
6 2.1 A. 1.b.(5) Changed the proper operating temperature from 1,795.5 to

1,762.8 degrees Fahrenheit for the secondary chamber of
Unit 1 and from 1,798.2 to 1,759.5 degrees Fahrenheit for the

secondary chamber of Unit 2.




Page(s)

Section

Description of Change(s)

21A. 1.b.(6)

No change in the residence time, but changed minimum
temperature requirements from 1,795.5 to 1,762.8 degrees
Fahrenheit in Unit 1 and from 1,798.2 to 1759.5 degrees
Fahrenheit in Unit 2.

21A.1.b. (9) A.

Venturi Scrubber Monitoring - To demonstrate compliance
with the PM, standard, the pressure drop across the venturi
scrubbers are changed from 40.0 to 39.0 inches W.C. for Unit
1 and from 40.1 to 38.9 inches W.C. for Unit 2, and the
charging rate changed from 1952.6 to 2,092.0 pounds per hour
for Unit 1 and from 2,091.9 2,093.1 pounds per hour for Unit
2.

7&8

2.1 A 1.b.(10)

NO, Emissions - controlled by ammonia or urea as a reagent
with a urea minimum injection rate of 1.1 gallons per hour
(gph) and ammonia minimum injection rate of 1.0 gph for Unit
1 and urea minimum injection rate of 1.2 gph and ammonia
minimum injection rate of 1.0 gph for Unit 2 in the selective
non-catalytic reduction (SNCR) systems ID Nos. CD07 and
CD08.

16

2.2 A (Toxics emissions
limit table)

The Manganese emission limit has been changed to 8.22
pounds per hour

16

22A 1.

Changed maximum charge rate from 1,952.6 to 2,092.0 pounds
per hour for Unit 1 and from 2,091.9 to 2,093.1 pounds per
hour Unit 2




State of North Carolina
Department of Environmental

Quality

Division of Air Quality

AIR QUALITY PERMIT

Permit No. Replaces Permit No. Effective Date Expiration Date

05896T24 05896123 November 6, 2015 January 31, 2016

Until such time as this permit expires or is modified or revoked, the below named Permittee is authorized to operate as outlined
in Part I and to construct as outlined in Part II, the emission source(s) and associated air pollution control device(s) specified
herein, in accordance with the terms, conditions, and limitations within this permit. This permit is issued under the provisions of
Article 21B of Chapter 143, General Statutes of North Carolina as amended, and Title 15A North Carolina Administrative Codes
(15A NCAC), Subchapters 2D and 2Q), and other applicable Laws.

Pursuant to Title 15A NCAC, Subchapter 2Q, the Permittee shall not construct, operate, or modify any emission source(s) or air
pollution control device(s) without having first submitted a complete Air Quality Permit Application to the permitting authority
and received an Air Quality Permit, except as provided in this permit.

Permittee: Stericycle, Inc.

Facility ID: 0100010

Facility Site Location: 1168 Porter Avenue

City, County, State, Zip: Haw River, Alamance County, North Carolina 27258
Mailing Address: Post Office Box 310

City, State, Zip: Haw River, North Carolina 27258
Application Number: 0100010.15B

Complete Application Date: September 8, 2015

Primary SIC Code: 4953

Division of Air Quality, Winston-Salem Regional Office
Regional Office Address: 450 West Hanes Mill Road, Suite 300

Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27105

Permit issued this the 6" day of November, 2015.

W) 1ty

William D. Willets, P.E., Chief, Permitting Section
By Authority of the Environmental Management Commission
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SECTON 1-

PERMITTED EMISSION SOURCE (S) AND ASSOCIATED AIR

POLLUTION CONTROL DEVICE (S) AND APPURTENANCES

The following table contains a summary of all permitted emission sources and associated air pollution control devices and appurtenances:

Page || Emission Source Emission Source Description Control Control Device Description
# ID No. Device
ID No.

3 ESO1 dual chamber hospital, medical and CD07 one selective non-catalytic reduction
infectious waste incinerator (HMIWTI) (SNCR) system with ammonia or urea
firing natural gas (4.6 million Btw/hr injection (19700 ACFM, outlet
primary chamber burner and 6.0 airflow rate)
million Btu/hr secondary chamber CD01 one packed bed scrubber and
burner) associated quench column in series

CDO03 with venturi scrubber equipped with a
mist eliminator

CDO05 one sulfur impregnated carbon bed
(6,000 ACFM, inlet airflow rate)

4 ES02 dual chamber hospital, medical and CDO038 one selective non-catalytic reduction
infectious waste incinerator (HMIWTI) (SNCR) system with ammonia or urea
firing natural gas (4.6 million Btw/hr injection (19700 ACFM, outlet
primary chamber burner and 6.0 airflow rate)
million Btu/hr secondary chamber CDO02 one packed bed scrubber and
burner) associated quench column in series

CD04 with venturi scrubber equipped with a
mist eliminator
CD06 one sulfur impregnated carbon bed
(6,000 ACFM, inlet airflow rate)
13 YEG1 diesel-fired emergency generator (500 | N/A N/A
MACT ZZZZ kW)
NSPS
1111

TThe emergency generator rating of 500 kW (the engine is rated for 568 kW).

SECTION 2 - SPECIFIC LIMITATIONS AND CONDITIONS

2.1- Emission Source(s) and Control Devices(s) Specific Limitations and Conditions

The emission source(s) and associated air pollution control device(s) and appurtenances listed below are subject to the
following specific terms, conditions, and limitations, including the testing, monitoring, recordkeeping, and reporting

requirements as specified herein:

A. -

Dual chamber hospital, medical and infectious waste incinerator (HMIWI) firing natural
gas (4.6 million Btu/hr primary chamber burner and 6.0 million Btu/hr secondary chamber
burner, ID No. ES01) controlled in series with one selective non-catalytic reduction (SNCR)
system with ammonia or urea injection (19700 ACFM, outlet airflow rate, ID No. CD07) in
series with one packed bed scrubber (ID No. CD01) in series with one venturi scrubber (ID
No. CD03) equipped with mist eliminator in series with one sulfur impregnated carbon bed
(6,000 ACFM, inlet airflow rate, ID No.CD05)

Dual chamber hospital, medical and infectious waste incinerator (HMIWI) firing natural
gas (4.6 million Btu/hr primary chamber burner and 6.0 million Btu/hr secondary chamber
burner, ID No. ES02) controlled in series with one selective non-catalytic reduction (SNCR)
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system with ammonia or urea injection (19700 ACFM, outlet airflow rate, ID No. CD08) in
series with one packed bed scrubber (ID No. CD02) in series with one venturi scrubber (ID
No. CD04) equipped with mist eliminator in series with one sulfur impregnated carbon bed

(6,000 ACFM, inlet airflow rate, ID No.CD06)

The following table provides a summary of limits and standards for the emission source(s) described above:

Regulated Limits/Standards Applicable Regulation
Pollutant

toxic air State-enforceable only - See Section 2.2 A. 15ANCAC 2D .1100
pollutants

odorous State-enforceable only - See Section 2.2 B. I5ANCAC 2D .1806
emissions

PM, S02, Limits for Hospital, Medical, and Infectious 15A NCAC 2D .1206
NOx, CO, Waste Incinerators

metal HAPs

- Federal Regulation NSPS Subpart HHH

1. EMISSION LIMITS

State Only

a. 15A NCAC 02D .1206 Hospital, Medical, and Infectious Waste Incinerators

The following table summarizes emission limitations for these Hospital, Medical, Infectious Waste Incinerator (HMIW1) units

as stipulated under Table 1B of emissions guidelines for NSPS Subpart Ce'.

Pollutant

Emission Limits*

Filterable Particulate

meter (mg/dscm) Or

foot (gr/dscf))

25 milligrams per dry standard cubic

0.011 (grains per dry standard cubic

Carbon monoxide

(ppmv)

11 parts per million by volume

Dioxins/furans

Or

cubic feet (gr/10°dscf)
or

0.054 ng/dscm TEQ Or
0.024 gr/10%dscf TEQ

9.3 nanograms per dry standard cubic
meter total dioxins/furans (ng/dscm)

4.1 grains per billion dry standard

Hydrogen chloride

(ppmv)

6.6 parts per million by volume

Sulfur dioxide

(ppmv)

9.0 parts per million by volume

Nitrogen dioxide

(ppmv)

140 parts per million by volume

Lead

cubic meter (mg/dscm) Or

0.036 milligrams per dry standard

0.016 grains per thousand dry
standard cubic feet (gr/103dscf)

Cadmium

cubic meter (mg/dscm) Or

0.0092 milligrams per dry standard

I See Section 5., of the review for application # 0100010.13B
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0.0040 grains per thousand dry
standard cubic feet (gt/1 0*dscf)

Mercury 0.018 milligrams per dry standard

cubic meter (mg/dscm) Or
0.0079 grains per thousand dry
standard cubic feet (gr/10%dscf)

Opacity 6% opacity (6-minute block

average)**

*All limits are corrected to 7% oxygen on a dry standard basis.
** As required by 15A NCAC 02D .1206(c)(6).

Operational requirements for incinerators: [NSPS Subpart Ec (40 CFR 60.56¢ and 60.57c), 15A NCAC
2D.1206(d), and 15A NCAC 2Q.0508(f)]

M

03

©)

“)

The Permittee shall not exceed a maximum charge rate of 2,092.0 pounds per hour for Unit 1 (ID No. ES01)
and 2,093.1 pounds per hour for Unit 2 (ID No. ES02).

Except as provided in paragraph (3) below, simultaneous operation of the HMIWT above the maximum charge
rate and below the minimum secondary chamber temperature, each measured on a 3-hour rolling average, shall
constitute a violation of the particulate matter, carbon monoxide, and dioxin and furan emission limits.

Pursuant to 40 CFR Part 60.56¢(d)(1), for a wet scrubber control system, the Permittee shall re-establish the
appropriate maximum and minimum operating parameters as site specific operating parameters identified
below every year based on performance testing to determine compliance with emission limits:

Maximum waste charge rate (pounds per hour);
Maximum flue gas temperature;

Minimum secondary chamber temperature;

Minimum pressure drop across the venturi scrubbers;
Minimum liquor flow rate to the venturi scrubbers;
Minimum liquor pH of the packed bed scrubbers; and
Bypass stack position.

NO reagent.

mommy oW

The Permittee may revise these parameters based on approved performance tests pursuant to 40 CFR 60.56¢(j).
In order to revise the parameters, the Permittee shall make a written request to have the permit administratively
amended that cites the parameters documented during the test and the calculation methods pursuant to 60.51c.

Following the date in which the annual performance test is approved and the permit is modified, the Permittee
shall ensure that the affected facility does not operate above the maximum parameters or below the minimum
parameters measured as 3 hour rolling averages (calculated each hour as the average of the previous 3 operating
hours). Operation above the established maximum or below the established minimum shall constitute a
violation of the applicable emissions standard as indicated in this permit except during start-up, shutdown, or
malfunction.

Based on the most recent performance test and consistent with 60.56c(f)(1)-(6), 62.14455(d), and 2D
.1206(d)(3), the tables below identify operating scenarios for each incinerator that define compliance with the
pollutant emissions standards. The Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with the applicable emission
standard if operation is noted outside of these ranges.

HMIWI - UNIT 1

Pollutant Emission Limit Violation Operating Scenario Defining Compliance

particulate matter maximum charge rate of 2,092.0 pounds per hour and

minimum pressure drop across venturi scrubber of 39.0
inches W.C.




Permit 05896T24
Page 6

Pollutant Emission Limit Violation

Operating Scenario Defining Compliance

CcO

maximum charge rate of 2,092.0 pounds per hour and
minimum secondary chamber temperature of 1,762.8°F

dioxin/furan

maximum charge rate of 2,092.0 pounds per hour,
minimum secondary chamber temperature of 1,762.8°F and
minimum venturi scrubber liquor flow rate of 65.2 gallons
per minute

HCI

maximum charge rate of 2,092.0 pounds per hour and
minimum packed bed scrubber liquor pH 0f4.10

mercury

maximum charge rate of 2,092.0 pounds per hour and
maximum flue gas temperature of 168.1°F

cadmium, mercury

particulate matter, dioxin/furan, HCI, lead,

operation of bypass stack except during start-up, shutdown,
or malfunction

NO«

urea as a reagent with a minimum injection rate of 1.1 gallons
per hour (gph) and ammonia of 1.0 gph.

HMIWI - UNIT 2

Pollutant Emission Limit Violation

Operating Scenario Defining Compliance

particulate matter

maximum charge rate of 2,093.1 pounds per hour and
minimum pressure drop across the venturi scrubber of 38.9
inches W.C.

CO

maximum charge rate of 2,093.1 pounds per hour and
minimum secondary chamber temperature of 1,759.5°F

dioxin/furan

maximum charge rate of 2,093.1 pounds per hour,
minimum secondary chamber temperature of 1,59.5°F and
minimum venturi scrubber liquor flow rate of 66.7 gallons
per minute

HCI

maximum charge rate of 2,093.1 pounds per hour and
minimum packed bed scrubber liquor pH of 4.1

mercury

maximum charge rate of 2,093.1 pounds per hour and
maximum flue gas temperature of 164.1°F

cadmium, mercury

particulate matter, dioxin/furan, HCI, lead,

operation of bypass stack except during start-up, shutdown,
or malfunction

NO«

urea as a reagent with a minimum injection rate of 1.2 gallons
per hour (gph) and ammonia of 1.0 gph.

(5) The Permittee shall not charge any waste into the incinerators until the proper operating temperature of 1,762.8
degrees Fahrenheit is attained in the secondary chamber of Unit 1 and 1,759.5 degrees Fahrenheit is attained
in the secondary chamber of Unit 2.

(6) Gases generated by combustion shall, for a period of not less than one second, be subjected to a minimum

temperature of 1,762.8 degrees Fahrenheit in Unit 1 and 1759.5 degrees Fahrenheit in Unit 2.

(7) Incineration of wastes shall be limited to the following:

A. items and materials included in the definition of hospital, medical, and infectious waste contained in 40

CFR 60.51c;

B. international garbage (USDA/APHIS) defined as waste material derived in whole or in part from fruits,
vegetables, meats, or other plant or animal material, and other refuse of any character whatsoever that has
been associated with any such material aboard any means of conveyance and includes food scraps, table
refuse, galley refuse, food wrappers, or packaging materials, and other waste material from stores, food
preparation areas, passengers’ or crews’ quarters, dining rooms, or any other areas on vessels, aircraft, or
other means of conveyance;

C. confidential documents generated in the health care industry,
D. controlled substances captured by law enforcement agencies;
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non-hazardous trace chemotherapeutic waste materials;

non-hazardous pharmaceuticals.

non-hazardous materials under Section 2.1. A. 1. b. (7). E., and F., refer to those substance that are not
regulated under 15A NCAC 13A .0106.

omm

(8) Visible emissions from these HMIWIs shall not be more than 10 percent opacity when averaged over a six-
minute period.

A. Visible Emissions Monitoring [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(f)]

To assure compliance, once a day the Permittee shall observe the emission points of each unit for any
visible emissions above normal. The daily observation must be made for each day of the calendar year
period to ensure compliance with this requirement. The Permittee shall be allowed three (3) days of absent
observations per semi-annual period. If the emission sources is not operating, a record of this fact along
with the corresponding date and time shall substitute for the daily observation. If visible emissions from
this source are observed to be above normal, the Permittee shall either: (a) be deemed to be in
noncompliance with 40 CFR 60.52¢(b) and 15A NCAC 2D .1206(c)(3) or (b) demonstrate that the percent
opacity from the emission points of the emission source in accordance with ISA NCAC 2D .0501(c)(8) is
below the limit given above. If the demonstration in (b) above cannot be made, the Permittee shall be
deemed to be in noncompliance with 40 CFR 60.52¢c(b) and 15A NCAC 2D .1206.

B. Visible Emissions Recordkeeping [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(f)]
The results of the monitoring shall be maintained in a log (written or electronic format) on-site and made

available to an authorized representative upon request. The log shall record the following:

i.  the date and time of each recorded action;

ii. the results of each observation and/or test noting those sources with emissions that were observed to
be in noncompliance along with any corrective actions taken to reduce visible emissions; and

iii. the results of any corrective actions performed.

The Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 40 CFR 52¢(b) and 15A NCAC 2D .1206 if these
records are not maintained.

(9) Venturi Scrubber Requirements - Particulate matter emissions shall be controlled as described in the permitted
equipment list.

A. Venturi Scrubber Monitoring - In accordance with 40 CFR 60.57c(a), to demonstrate compliance with the
PM, standard, the pressure drop across the venturi scrubbers shall not be less than 39.0 inches W.C. for
Unit 1 and 38.9 inches W.C. for Unit 2, and the charging rate shall not exceed 2,092.0 pounds per hour
for Unit 1 and 2,093.1 pounds per hour for Unit 2.

B. Venturi Scrubber Recordkeeping - The Permittee shall continuously monitor the pressure drop across the
venturi scrubbers and the charging rate to each incinerator. The Permittee shall record, the pressure drop
across each venturi scrubber (once per minute) and record the charging rate to each incinerator (once per
hour). Records shall be maintained on-site and made available to DAQ personnel upon request.

The Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 40 CFR 57¢(a) and 15A NCAC 2D .1206 if these
measurements are not recorded as required.

(10) NOy emissions from the incinerator shall be controlled by ammonia or urea as a reagent with a urea minimum
injection rate of 1.1 gallons per hour (gph) and ammonia minimum injection rate of 1.0 gph for Unit 1 and
urea minimum injection rate of 1.2 gph and ammonia minimum injection rate of 1.0 gph for Unit 2 in the
selective non-catalytic reduction (SNCR) systems ID Nos. CD07 and CDO8.

(11) Carbon Bed Requirements:
The affected carbon beds used for the control of mercury emissions from the HMIWISs shall be designed and
operated with two beds in series, with the second bed serving as a guard bed, The Permittee shall, at a
minimum:
A. Replace each carbon bed or the carbon in each bed before it has reached the end of its useful life. For the
replacement of carbon in the primary bed, the secondary bed will be rotated into the primary bed position
and the new carbon will be used in the secondary bed position;
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B. Use the type of activated carbon used during the most recent performance test demonstrating compliance
with the Hg emission limit until a subsequent performance test is conducted; and

C. Substitute at any time a different brand of activated carbon provided that the replacement has equivalent
or improved properties compared to the carbon used in the most recent performance test.

D. The Permittee shall monitor the performance of the carbon beds in each affected carbon bed system as
provided below to ensure that the carbon in each bed has not reached the end of its useful life to control
mercury emissions to at least the level needed to comply with the limits of 40 CFR § Part 60, Subpart
Ce:
i.  Monitoring shall be conducted consistent with the manufacturer’s written specifications and

recommendations;

ii. The Permittee shall Document the monitoring procedures in the operating and maintenance
procedures;

iii. The Permittee shall keep records of the performance monitoring;

iv. The maximum waste charge rate and the maximum flue gas temperature monitored at the inlet to the
carbon bed system will be established during the initial performance test and will be continuously
monitored thereafter;

v. Operation of a HMIWI above the maximum waste charge rate and above the maximum flue gas
temperature at the inlet to the carbon bed system (each measured on a 3-hour rolling average)
simultaneously shall constitute a violation of the Hg emission limit; and

vi. The minimum data recording frequency for the maximum waste charge rate will be once per hour
and for the maximum flue gas temperature at the inlet to the carbon bed system it will be once per
minute.

Failure to follow any of the above mentioned procedures, testing, monitoring and record keeping activities,

the Permittee shall be in violation of 40 CFR § Part 60, Subpart Ce and 15A NCAC 02D .1206.

Test Methods and Procedures [15A NCAC 2D .1206(d) and (e) and NSPS Subpart Ec (40 CFR 60.56¢)]

0]

2

3)

4)

The Permittee shall comply with the compliance and performance testing requirements of 40 CFR 60.56c,
excluding the fugitive emissions testing requirements under 40 CFR 60.56¢(b)(12) and (c)(3). Pursuant to
60.56c, the emission limits apply at all times except during periods of startup, shutdown or malfunction,
provided that no hospital, medical, or infectious waste is charged to the incinerator during startup, shutdown,
or malfunction.

The test methods and procedures described in Rule 15A NCAC 2D .0501 and in 40 CFR Part 60 Appendix A
shall be used to determine compliance with emission rates according to the provisions of General Condition
JJ. Method 29 of 40 CFR 60 shall be used to determine emission rates for metals. However, Method 29 shall
be used to sample for chromium (VI), and SW 846 Method 0060 shall be used for analysis. For dioxin/furan
testing purposes, a minimum sample time of 4 hours shall be used.

The Director may require the owner or operator to test his incinerator at any time to demonstrate compliance
with the emission standards listed above.

Pursuant to 40 CFR 60.56¢c(h), the Permittee may conduct a repeat performance test within 30 days of violation
of applicable operating parameters to demonstrate that the HMIWTI is not in continual violation of the applicable
emission limits. Repeat performance tests shall be conducted using identical operating parameters that
demonstrated violation.

Monitoring/Recordkeeping/Reporting [15A NCAC 2D .1206(f)]

(M

The Permittee shall comply with the monitoring, recordkeeping, and reporting requirements in Section 15A
NCAC 2D .0600. The Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with I5A NCAC 2D .1206 if records are
not maintained.

Pursuant to 15A NCAC 2D .0603, the Permittee shall maintain:
A. records detailing all malfunctions under Rule 2D .0535,

B. records of all testing, and

C. records of all monitoring.
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The owner or operator of a source of excess emissions which last for more than 4 hours and which results from
a malfunction, a breakdown of process or control equipment, or any other abnormal conditions shall report
excess emissions in accordance with the requirements of Rule 2D .0535.

Records indicating the hourly (beginning on the hour) charge rate to the incinerators shall be maintained and
available for inspection by the Division of Air Quality.

The Permittee shall maintain and operate a continuous temperature monitoring and recording device for the
primary chamber and secondary chamber of each unit. The owner or operator of an incinerator that has installed
air pollution abatement equipment to reduce emissions of hydrogen chloride shall install, operate, and maintain
continuous monitoring equipment to measure pH for each wet scrubber systems. The Permittee shall install,
operate, and maintain continuous monitors for oxygen and for carbon monoxide to determine proper operation
of the incinerators.

All monitoring devices and associated paraphernalia used to show compliance with emission limits, shall be
subject to a quality assurance program to include procedures and frequency of calibration, standards
traceability, operational checks, maintenance, auditing, data validation, and a schedule for implementing the
quality assurance program. This program should be submitted and approved by the Regional Supervisor, North
Carolina Division of Air Quality, Winston-Salem Regional Office, 450 W. Hanes Mill Road, Suite 300,
Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27105, within 60 days of the initial operating date of the Title V permit.

e. NSPS Monitoring/Recordkeeping/Reporting Requirements [NSPS Subpart Ec (40 CFR 60.55¢, 60.57¢

60.58¢)]

)

@)

In addition to the requirements of 1. d. (1), (2), and (3) above, the Permittee shall comply with the reporting
and recordkeeping requirements listed in 40 CFR 60.58¢c(b), (c), (d), (¢), and (f), excluding 40 CFR
60.58¢c(b)(2)(ii) and (b)(7). The Permittee shall maintain the following information for a period of at least 5
years:

A. Calendar date of each record;
B. Records of the following data;
i.  concentrations of any pollutant listed in Table in Section 2.1 A. 1. a., above,
ii. HMIWI charge dates, times and weights and hourly charge rates,
iii. secondary chamber temperature recorded as three hour rolling average,
iv. liquor flow rate to the venturi scrubbers’ inlet recorded as three hour rolling average,
v. temperature at the outlet from the venturi scrubbers recorded as three hour rolling average,
vi. pH at the inlet to the packed bed scrubber systems recorded as three hour rolling average, and
vii. records indicating use of bypass stacks, including dates, times, and durations,

C. Identification of calendar days for which data on emission rates or operating parameters have not been
obtained, with an identification of the emission rates or parameters not measured, reasons for not obtaining
the data, and a description of corrective actions taken,

D. Identification of calendar days, times and durations of malfunctions, a description of the malfunction and
the corrective action taken,

E. Identification of calendar days for which data of emission rates or operating parameters exceeded the
applicable limits, with a description of the exceedances, reasons for such exceedances, and a description
of the corrective actions taken,

F. Records showing the names of HMIWI operators who have completed review of information in 60.53¢(h)
including the date of the initial review and all subsequent annual reviews,

G. Records showing the names of HMIWI operators who have completed the operator training requirements,
including documentation of training and dates of the training,

H. Records showing the names of HMIWI operators who have met the criteria for qualification under 60.53¢
and the dates of their qualifications,

I. Records of calibration of any monitoring devices as required under 60.57c(a),(b), and (c).

The Permittee shall submit the information below no later than 60 days following the initial performance test.

All reports shall be signed by the facilities manager.
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f.

g.

(3)

“)

&)

A. The initial performance test data as recorded under 60.56¢(b)(1) through (b)(12), as applicable,
B. The values for the site-specific operating parameters established pursuant to 60.56c, and

Following the initial report, the Permittee shall submit reports semi-annually signed by the facilities manager
containing the following information:

A. The values for the site-specific operating parameters established pursuant to 60.56¢c,

B. The highest maximum operating parameter and the lowest minimum operating parameter for each
operating parameter recorded for the calendar year being reported and the preceding year,

C. If a performance test was conducted during the reporting period, the results of that test,

D. If no exceedances or malfunctions occurred for the calendar year, a statement that no exceedances

occurred,

Any use of bypass stacks, the duration, reason for malfunction, and corrective action taken, and

Any information recorded under ¢(1)B above as electronic one-minute data for the calendar year being

reported and the preceding year.

mm

All records shall be maintained onsite in either paper copy or computer readable format, unless an alternative
format is approved.

The Permittee shall submit annually a waste management plan including provisions for the segregation of
dental waste for DAQ approval by no later than January 30th of each calendar year. The waste management
plan shall comply with the requirements of 40 CFR 60.55¢. The Permittee shall implement the DAQ approved
waste management plan in its entirety, The Permittee shall not incinerate dental waste at the facility, which is
defined in the DAQ approved waste management plan.

If the Permittee does not implement the DAQ approved waste management plan in its entirety or any dental
waste is incinerated at the facility, the Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with I5SANCAC 2D .0524.

Within 30 days of approval and receipt of the air permit 05896T18, the Permittee shall submit a draft waste
management plan including language addressing the management of dental waste at the Haw River facility.

The Permittee shall comply with the monitoring requirements in 40 CFR 60.57¢. Pursuant to 40 CFR
60.57c(a), the Permittee shall install, calibrate (to manufacturer’s specification), maintain, and operate
devices (or establish methods) for monitoring the applicable maximum and minimum operating parameters
and the frequencies required such that these devices (or methods) measure and record values at all times
except during periods of startup and shutdown.

Pursuant to 40 CFR 60.57¢(b), the Permittee shall install, calibrate (to manufacturer’s specification),
maintain, and operate a device or method for measuring the use of the bypass stack including date, time, and
duration,

Pursuant to 40 CFR 60.57¢(d), the Permittee shall obtain monitoring data at all times during HMIWI
operation except during periods of monitoring equipment malfunction, calibration, or repair. At a minimum,
valid monitoring data shall be obtained for 75 percent of the operating hours per day for 90 percent of the
operating days per calendar quarter that the facility is combusting hospital waste and/or medical/infectious
waste.

Excess Emissions, Start-up and Shutdown [15A NCAC 2D .1206(g)]

(1) All incinerators shall comply with Rule 15A NCAC 2D .0535.

Operator Training and Certification [15A NCAC 2D .1206(h) and NSPS Subpart Ec (40 CFR 60.53c)]

0y

The Permittee shall not allow the HMIWI to operate at any time unless a fully trained and qualified HMIWI
operator is accessible, either at the facility or available within one hour. The trained and qualified HMIWI
operator may operate the HMIWI directly or be the direct supervisor of one or more HMIWI operators.
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Operator training shall be obtained by completing the requirements of 40 CFR 60.53¢(c) through (g). Training
shall be obtained by completing an HMIWTI operator training course that includes, at a minimum, the following
provisions:

A.

24 hours of training on the following subjects;

i. environmental concerns, including pathogen destruction and types of emissions,

ii. basic combustion principles, including products of combustion,

iii. operation of the type of incinerator being used, including power startup, waste charging, and shutdown
procedures,

iv. combustion controls and monitoring,

v. operation of air pollution control equipment and factors affecting performance,

vi. methods to monitor pollutants and equipment calibration procedures,

vii. inspection and maintenance of the HMIWI, and air pollution control devices,

viii. actions to correct malfunctions or conditions that may lead to malfunctions,

ix. ash characteristics and handling procedures,

x. applicable state, federal, and local regulations,

xi. work safety procedures,

Xii. pre-start up inspections, and

xiii. recordkeeping requirements

Qualification shall be obtained by:

i. completion of a training course that satisfies the criteria mentioned above, and

ii. either 6 months experience as an HMIWI operator, 6 months experience as a direct supervisor of an
HMIWI operator, or completion of at least two burn cycles under observation of two qualified HMIWI
operators.

To maintain qualification, the trained and qualified HMIWI operator shall complete and pass an annual
review or refresher course of at least 4 hours covering, at a minimum, the following:

i.  update of regulations,

ii. incinerator operation, including startup and shutdown procedures,

iii. inspection and maintenance,

iv. responses to malfunctions or conditions that may lead to malfunction, and
v. discussion of operating problems encountered by attendees.

A lapsed qualification shall be renewed by one of the following methods:

i. for a lapse of less than 3 years, the HMIWI operator shall complete and pass a standard annual
refresher course as outlined in c. above.

ii. for a lapse of more than 3 years, the HMIWI operator shall complete and pass a training course with
the minimum criteria described in a. above.

Pursuant to 40 CFR 60.53c(h)(1) through (h)(10), the Permittee shall maintain documentation at the facility
that addresses the following:

mmoaws

TEO

summary of applicable standards;

description of basic combustion theory applicable to an HMIWI;

procedures for receiving, handling, and charging waste;

HMIWTI start-up, shut-down, and malfunction procedures;

procedures for maintaining proper air supply levels;

procedures for operating the HMIWI and associated air pollution control systems within the standards
established;

procedures for responding to periodic malfunction or conditions that may lead to malfunction;
procedures for monitoring HMIWI emissions;

reporting and recordkeeping procedures; and
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J.  procedures for handling ash.
The Permittee shall establish a program for reviewing the information documented above annually with each
HMIWI operator. This information shall be kept in a readily accessible location for HMIWTI operators.

Carbon monoxide emissions monitoring [NSPS Subpart Ec Table 1A]

To assure compliance, the Permittee shall have installed on the exhaust stack of each incinerators (ESO1 and
ES02) a carbon monoxide continuous emissions monitoring (CEM) system. The CEM shall be constructed,
installed and operated in accordance with the following requirements:

i.  The CEM systems shall be installed, calibrated, maintained, tested, and operated in accordance with 40 CFR
Part 60, Appendix B, Performance Specifications and Appendix F, Quality Assurance Procedures and any
written manufacturers specifications or recommendations as approved by the Division in the Quality
Assurance Plan (QAP).

ii. Compliance with the carbon monoxide emission standard shall be demonstrated based on a 12-hour rolling
average, calculated each hour as the average of the previous 12 operating hours of the carbon monoxide
exhaust gas concentration measured by the CEM systems. If any 12-hour rolling average exceeds 40 ppmv
corrected to 7% oxygen on a dry standard basis, the Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A
NCAC 2D .0524.

iii. The Permittee shall submit any excess carbon monoxide emission reports as measured by the continuous
emission monitor postmarked on or before January 30 of each calendar year for the preceding six-month
period between July and December and July 30 of each calendar year for the preceding six-month period
between January and June. If there are no excess emissions, the Permittee shall submit a report stating that
no excess emissions occurred during the semiannual reporting period.

iv. The Permittee shall use this CEM as a means of demonstrating compliance for carbon monoxide emissions.

v. The Permittee shall have the CEM systems installed and operational by August 31, 2011. Failure to have the
CEM installed and operational by this date, the Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A
NCAC 2D .0524.

The Permittee shall comply with the emission guidelines to control emissions from existing hospital, medical, and
infectious waste incinerators 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart Ce as published in the Federal Register / Vol. 74, No. 192/
Tuesday, October 6, 2009, by July 1, 2013.

The Permittee shall install sulfur impregnated carbon beds (ID Nos. CD05 and CD06) and selective non-catalytic
reduction (SNCR) systems (ID Nos. CD07, and CD08) on dual chamber incinerators (ID Nos. ES01 and ES02) to
comply by July 1, 2013, with the new emission limits of NSPS Subpart Ce, as per Section 2.1 A. 1. a., above.

The Permittee shall establish the appropriate maximum and minimum site specific operating parameters based on
the initial performance test to be conducted no later than 180 days following the installation of the sulfur
impregnated carbon beds (ID Nos. CD05 and CD06) and selective non-catalytic reduction (SNCR) systems (ID
Nos. CD07, and CD08). Within 180 days of the initial performance test the Permittee shall submit an application
to DAQ to re-establish operating parameters and calculation methods to demonstrate compliance. The Permittee
shall be deemed in noncompliance with NSPS Subpart Ce for failure to meet any of the requirements on the dates
outlined in this Section.

Federal Regulation Only
2. NSPS Subpart HHH? [40 CFR § §62.14400]

The hospital, medical and infectious waste incinerator (HMIWI) (ID Nos. ES01 and ES02) are subject to NSPS
Subpart HHH for “Federal Plan Requirements for Hospital/Medical/Infectious Waste Incinerators Constructed
On/Or Before December 1, 2008.”

B. One diesel fuel-fired emergency generator (ID No. EG1) rated at 500 ekW (the engine is rated
for 568 kW),

The following table provides a summary of limits and standards for the emission source(s) described above:

2 See Section 4., of the review for application # 0100010.13B
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Regulated Limits/Standards Applicable Regulation
Pollutant
sulfur dioxide | 2.3 pounds per million Btu heat input ISANCAC 2D .516
visible 20 percent opacity I15ANCAC 2D .521
emissions

1. 15A NCAC 2D .0516: SULFUR DIOXIDE EMISSIONS FROM COMBUSTION SOURCES

Emissions of sulfur dioxide from this source shall not exceed 2.3 pounds per million Btu heat input. Sulfur dioxide
formed by the combustion of sulfur in fuels, wastes, ores, and other substances shall be included when determining
compliance with this standard. [15A NCAC 2D .0516]

Testing [15A NCAC 02D .2601]

If emissions testing is required, the testing shall be performed in accordance with 15A NCAC 2D .0501(c)(4) and
General Condition JJ found in Section 3. If the results of this test are above the limit given in Section 2.1 B. 1. a.
above, the Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 2D .0516.

Monitoring/Recordkeeping/Reporting [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(f)]
No monitoring, recordkeeping, or reporting is required for sulfur dioxide emissions from the firing of diesel fuel in
this emergency generator.

15A NCAC 2D .0521: CONTROL OF VISIBLE EMISSIONS

Visible emissions from the emergency generator shall not be more than 20 percent opacity when averaged over a six-
minute period. However, six-minute averaging periods may exceed 20 percent not more than once in any hour and
not more than four times in any 24-hour period. In no event shall the six-minute average exceed 87 percent opacity.
[ISANCAC 2D .0521 (d)]

Testing [15A NCAC 02D .2601]

If emissions testing is required, the testing shall be performed in accordance with 15A NCAC 2D .0501(c)(8) and
General Condition JJ. If the results of this test are above the limit given in Section 2.1 B. 2. a. above, the Permittee
shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 2D .0521.

Monitoring/Recordkeeping/Reporting [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(f)]
No monitoring, recordkeeping, or reporting is required for visible emissions from the firing of diesel fuel in this

emergency generator.

15A NCAC 2D .1111 "MAXIMUM ACHIEVABLE CONTROL TECHNOLOGY",

Applicability [40 CFR § 63.6585, 6590(a)(2)(iii)]

Diesel fuel-fired emergency generator (ID No. EG1) (stationary RICE located at an area source of HAP emissions),
the Permittee shall comply with all applicable provisions, including the monitoring, recordkeeping, and reporting
contained in Environmental Management Commission Standard 15A NCAC 02D .1111 "Maximum Achievable
Control Technology" (MACT) as promulgated in 40 CFR 63, Subpart ZZZZ, “National Emission Standards For
Hazardous Air Pollutants For Stationary Reciprocating Internal Combustion Engines” and Subpart A “General
Provisions.”

Stationary RICE subject to Regulations under 40 CFR Part 60 [15 A NCAC 2Q. 0508(f)]

Pursuant to 40 CFR 63.6590(c)(1), this engine (ID No. EG1) must meet the requirements of 40 CFR 63 Subpart
7777 and Subpart A by meeting the requirements of 40 CFR part 60 subpart IIII. No further requirements apply for
this engine under 40 CFR 63 Subpart ZZZZ and Subpart A.

The Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 2D .1111., If the requirements in Section 2.1 B.
3. b., are not met,

15A NCAC 2D .0524: NEW SOURCE PERFORMANCE STANDARDS
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Applicability [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(f), 40 CFR § 60.4200(a)(2)(i)]

For this engine (ID No. EG1), the Permittee shall comply with all applicable provisions, including the requirements
for emission standards, notification, testing, reporting, record keeping, and monitoring, contained in Environmental
Management Commission Standard 15A NCAC 2D .0524 "New Source Performance Standards (NSPS)" as
promulgated in 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart IIII, Standards of Performance for Stationary Compression Ignition Internal
Combustion Engines,” including Subpart A "General Provisions."

General Provisions [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(f)]
Pursuant to 40 CFR 60 .4218, The Permittee shall comply with the General Provisions of 40 CFR 60 Subpart A as
presented in Table 8 of 40 CFR 60 Subpart IIII.

Emission Standards

The Permittee shall comply with the following emission standards for the diesel fuel-fired emergency generator (ID
No. EG1):

(1) NMHC + NOx: 6.4 (g/kW-hr)

(2) CO: 3.5 (g/kW-hr)

(3) PM: 0.20 (g/kW-hr)

The exhaust opacity from the diesel fuel-fired emergency generator (ID No. EG1) must not exceed:
(1) 20 percent during the acceleration mode;

(2) 15 percent during the lugging mode; and

(3) 50 percent during the peaks in either the acceleration or lugging modes.”

[40 CFR § 60.4205(b), 40 CFR §60.4202(a)(2), 40 CFR § 89.112(a), and 40 CFR § 89.113(a)]

Fuel Requirements
The Permittee shall use diesel fuel with the following content:

- Sulfur Content (for NR diesel fuel) = 15 ppm = 0.0015% weight,
- Sulfur Content (for LM diesel fuel) = 500 ppm = 0.05% weight, and
- Cetane index or aromatic content:
Cetane index = 40 (minimum); OR Aromatic content = 35% volume (maximum)
[40 CFR § 60.4207(b) and 40 CFR § 40 80.510(b)]

Testing [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(f)]

If emissions testing is required, the testing shall be performed in accordance with General Condition JJ. If the
results of this test are above the limits given in conditions c. and d., above, the Permittee shall be deemed in
noncompliance with 15A NCAC 2D .0524.

Initial Notification [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(f)]
None.
[40 CFR §60.4214(b)]

Monitoring [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(f)]

The engine has the following monitoring requirement:

The engines shall be equipped with a non-resettable hour meter prior to startup. [40CFR 60.4209(a)]

The Permittee shall:

i.  operate and maintain the engines and control devices according to the manufacturer's emission related-written
instructions over the entire life of the engine;

ii. change only those emission-related settings that are permitted by the manufacturer; and

iii. meet the requirements of 40 CFR 89, 94 and/or 1068 as applicable.

[40 CFR §60.4206, 40 CFR § 60.4209 and 40 CFR §60.4211(a)]

Compliance Requirements [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(b)]
The Permittee shall comply with the emission standards in condition ¢. by purchasing an engine certified to the

emission standards in condition ¢ for the same model year and maximum engine power. The engine shall be
installed and configured according to the manufacturer's emission-related specifications. [40 CFR § 60.4211(c)]
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In order for the engine to be considered an emergency stationary ICE under this condition, any operation other than
emergency operation, maintenance and testing, emergency demand response, and operation in non- emergency
situations for 50 hours per year, as described below, is prohibited. [40 CFR §60. 4211(f)]

(M
2)

€)

There is no time limit on the use of emergency stationary ICE in emergency situations. [40 CFR §60.

4211(5)(1)]

The Permittee may operate the emergency stationary ICE for any combination of the purposes specified in

paragraphs j(2)(i) through (iii) of this condition for a maximum of 100 hours per calendar year. Any operation

for non-emergency situations as allowed by paragraph (j)(3) of this condition counts as part of the 100 hours

per calendar year allowed by this paragraph (j)(2). [40 CFR §60. 4211(f)(2)]

(i) Emergency stationary ICE may be operated for maintenance checks and readiness testing, provided that the
tests are recommended by federal, state or local government, the manufacturer, the vendor, the regional
transmission organization or equivalent balancing authority and transmission operator, or the insurance
company associated with the engine. The owner or operator may petition the Administrator for approval of
additional hours to be used for maintenance checks and readiness testing, but a petition is not required if
the owner or operator maintains records indicating that federal, state, or local standards require
maintenance and testing of emergency ICE beyond 100 hours per calendar year. [40 CFR §60.
4211(H(2)M)]

(ii) Emergency stationary ICE may be operated for emergency demand response for periods in which the
Reliability Coordinator under the North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC) Reliability
Standard EOP-002-3, Capacity and Energy Emergencies (incorporated by reference, see 40 CFR 60.17),
or other authorized entity as determined by the Reliability Coordinator, has declared an Energy Emergency
Alert Level 2 as defined in the NERC Reliability Standard EOP—002-3. [40 CFR §60. 4211(f)(2)(ii)]

(iii) Emergency stationary ICE may be operated for periods where there is a deviation of voltage or frequency
of 5 percent or greater below standard voltage or frequency. [40 CFR §60. 4211(£)(2)(iii)]

Emergency stationary ICE may be operated for up to 50 hours per calendar year in non-emergency situations.

The 50 hours of operation in non-emergency situations are counted as part of the 100 hours per calendar year

for maintenance and testing and emergency demand response provided in paragraph (j)(2) of this condition.

Except as provided in paragraph (j)(3)(i) of this condition, the 50 hours per calendar year for non- emergency

situations cannot be used for peak shaving or non-emergency demand response, or to generate income for a

facility to an electric grid or otherwise supply power as part of a financial arrangement with another entity. [40

CFR §60. 4211(H(3)]

(i) The 50 hours per year for non-emergency situations can be used to supply power as part of a financial

arrangement with another entity if all of the following conditions are met: [40 CFR §60. 4211(£)(3)(i)]

(A) The engine is dispatched by the local balancing authority or local transmission and distribution system
operator; [40 CFR §60. 4211(f)(3)(i)(A)]

(B) The dispatch is intended to mitigate local transmission and/or distribution limitations so as to avert
potential voltage collapse or line overloads that could lead to the interruption of power supply in a
local area or region. [40 CFR §60. 4211(£)(3)(1)(B)]

(C) The dispatch follows reliability, emergency operation or similar protocols that follow specific NERC,
regional, state, public utility commission or local standards or guidelines. [40 CFR §60.
4211(H(3)()(C)]

(D) The power is provided only to the facility itself or to support the local transmission and distribution
system. [40 CFR §60. 4211(f)(3)(1)(D)]

(E) The owner or operator identifies and records the entity that dispatches the engine and the specific
NERC, regional, state, public utility commission or local standards or guidelines that are being
followed for dispatching the engine. The local balancing authority or local transmission and
distribution system operator may keep these records on behalf of the engine owner or operator. [40
CFR §60. 4211(H(3)(1)(E)]

The Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 2D .0524, if the above requirements are not met.

Recordkeeping [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(f)]

To assure compliance, the Permittee shall perform inspections and maintenance on the engine as recommended by
the manufacturer per 40 CFR § 60.4206 and 40 CFR § 60.4211(a). The following records shall be maintained in a
logbook (written or electronic format) on-site and made available to an authorized representative upon request:

i

the hours of operation of the engine in emergency and non-emergency service, and the time of operation of the
engine and the reason the engine was in operation during that time. [40 CFR § 60.4214(b)]
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ii. if a PM filter is used, records of any corrective action taken after the backpressure monitor has notified the
owner or operator that the high backpressure limit of the engine is approached [40 CFR § 60.4214(c)]; and

vil. documentation from the manufacturer that the engine is certified to meet the emission standards in condition c.

The Permittee shall be deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 2D .0524 if these records are not maintained.

Reporting [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(f)]

The Permittee shall submit a summary report of monitoring and recordkeeping activities postmarked on or before
January 30 of each calendar year for the preceding six-month period between July and December and July 30 of
each calendar year for the preceding six-month period between January and June. All instances of noncompliance
with the requirements of this permit shall be clearly identified.

2.2 - Multiple Emission Source(s) Specific Limitations and Conditions

STATE ENFORCEABLE ONLY

A. 15A NCAC 2D .1100: TOXIC AIR POLLUTANT EMISSIONS LIMITATION AND REPORTING
REQUIREMENT

The emission limits in the table below represent total emissions from both incinerators combined. Pursuant to 15A NCAC

2D.

1100 and in accordance with the approved application for an air toxic compliance demonstration, the following permit

limits shall not be exceeded:

EMISSION SOURCES TOXIC AIR POLLUTANTS EMISSION LIMITS
Incinerators (ID Nos. ESO1 Chromium VI 0.964 pounds per year
and ES02)
Arsenic 2.673 pounds per year
Cadmium 63.91 pounds per year
Hydrogen Chloride 2.2 pounds per hour
Hexachlorodibenzo-P-dioxin 0.8831 pounds per year
Tetrachlorodibenzo-P-dioxin 0.0349 pounds per year
Mercury 3.82 pounds per day
Chlorine 24.00 pounds per day; 1.00 pounds per hour
Beryllium 47.64 pounds per year
Nickel 12.00 pounds per day
Manganese 8.22 pounds per hour
Hydrogen Fluoride 24.00 pounds per day; 1.00 pounds per hour
1. To ensure compliance with the above limits, the following restrictions shall apply:

a. The charge rate into incinerator the (ID No. ESO1) shall not exceed 2092.0 pounds per hour.
b. The charge rate into incinerator the (ID No. ESO2) shall not exceed 2093.1 pounds per hour.

The incinerators’ stack height shall be a minimum of 82.4 feet above ground level.
The Permittee shall maintain records or any other process operational information as is necessary to determine

compliance with 15A NCAC 2D .1100. All records of compliance shall be maintained in a log (in written or electronic
format) and made available for inspection by personnel of the Division of Air Quality.
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i.  The Permittee shall test one of the two incinerators (to be selected by DAQ prior to the testing date) once every
twenty-four to twenty-six consecutive months to demonstrate compliance with 15A NCAC 2D .0408, .0521, and
.1100 for the following pollutants: lead, visible emissions, arsenic, beryllium, cadmium, chlorine, chromium VI,
hexachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin, tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin, hydrogen chloride, hydrogen fluoride, manganese,
and nickel.

ii. The Permittee shall test one of the two incinerators (to be selected by DAQ prior to the testing date) once each
calendar year quarter to demonstrate compliance with 15A NCAC 2D .1100 for mercury. If four consecutive
quarterly performance tests indicate compliance with the mercury emission limit, the Permittee may conduct
performance tests semi-annually. If two consecutive semi-annual performance tests indicate compliance with the
mercury emission limit, the Permittee may then conduct performance tests annually. Testing will go back to
quarterly whenever a stack test is failed. If the facility resumes quarterly performance tests, the same relaxation
schedule mentioned above can go into effect.

iii. The Permittee shall double the emissions from one of the two incinerators (tested) once every twenty-four to
twenty-six consecutive months to demonstrate compliance with 15A NCAC 2D .1100, for the purposes of
comparing the emissions to the facility wide limits in 2.2 A., above.

For each stack test conducted as required by this Section, the company shall track and record details for the waste
being burned and the material that may be carried over into the stack test period. Tracking shall include at a minimum,
a cross reference of the identity of the waste generator with the company’s customer list, the type of business waste,
the total weight of each container, and the time the material entered the incinerator. The identity information shall
include the nature of the business activity. This information will be summarized and submitted as part of the stack
test report. Additional tracking information may be required by the Regional Air Quality Supervisor.

In order to minimize bypass event duration and emissions, the Permittee shall:

a. Install an uninterruptible power supply (UPS) for the control system to eliminate any “Reboot” time associated
with the programmable logic controllers (PLCs).

Install a power outage indicator as an input to the PLCs.

Revise the PLC logic to require automatic re-closure of the bypass stack within 5 minutes after a power failure.
Install a low level switch on the emergency generator diesel tank.

Install a pressure switch to the water supply to alert operators to a loss of water supply.

Operate devices to assure continuous removal of the ash from the primary chamber.

Reduce combustion air to the primary chamber by alternately shutting the fan off and on in 1 minute cycles to
achieve a net reduction in airflow of 50% during the bypass event.

©mo a0 o

STATE ENFORCEABLE ONLY

L.

Venturi Scrubber Requirements - Particulate matter emissions from the incinerators shall be controlled as described
in the permitted equipment list. The inspection, maintenance and recordkeeping requirements shall become effective
upon the effective date of the permit.

Inspection and Maintenance Requirements - To comply with the provisions of this permit and ensure that emissions
do not exceed the regulatory limits, the Permittee shall perform periodic inspections and maintenance (I&M) as
recommended by the manufacturer. In addition, the Permittee shall perform an annual internal inspection of the
scrubber systems.

Recordkeeping Requirements - The results of all inspections and any variance from manufacturer's recommendations
or from those given in this permit (when applicable) shall be investigated with corrections made and dates of actions
recorded in a log (in written or electronic form). Records of all inspection and maintenance activities shall be recorded
in the log. The log shall be kept on-site and made available to DAQ personnel upon request. The Permittee shall be
deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 2D .1206(f) and 2D .0600 if records are not maintained.

Packed Bed Scrubber Requirements - Gaseous emissions shall be controlled as described in the permitted equipment list.
The monitoring, inspection, maintenance and record keeping requirements shall become effective upon the effective date
of the permit.
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The Permittee shall monitor and record the temperature at the outlet of the packed bed scrubbers and pressure drop across
the packed bed scrubbers once per shift.

a. Inspection and Maintenance Requirements - To comply with the provisions of this permit and ensure that emissions

do not exceed the regulatory limits, the Permittee shall perform periodic inspections and maintenance as recommended
by the manufacturer. In addition, the Permittee shall perform an annual internal inspection of the scrubber systems.

As a minimum, the annual internal inspection will include inspection of spray nozzles, packing material, chemical
feed system (if so equipped), and the cleaning/calibration of all associated instrumentation annually.

b. Recordkeeping Requirements - The results of all inspections and any variance from manufacturer's recommendations

or from those given in this permit (when applicable) shall be investigated with corrections made and dates of actions
recorded in a log (in written or electronic form). Records of all inspection and maintenance activities shall be recorded
in the log. The log shall be kept on-site and made available to DAQ personnel upon request. The Permittee shall be
deemed in noncompliance with 15A NCAC 2D .1206(f) and 2D .0600 if records are not maintained.

C. All emission sources

The following table provides a summary of limits and standards for the emission source(s) describe above:

Regulated | Limits/Standards Applicable Regulation
Pollutant
odors odorous emissions must be controlled; State-enforceable only | 15A NCAC 2D .1806

15A NCAC 2D 1206(c)(7)

STATE ENFORCEABLE ONLY

1. 15A NCAC 2D .1806: CONTROL AND PROHIBITION OF ODOROUS EMISSIONS

a, The Permittee shall not operate the facility without implementing management practices or installing and operating
odor control equipment sufficient to prevent odorous emissions from the facility from causing or contributing to
objectionable odors beyond the facility’s boundary.

b. If the Director determines that a source or facility is emitting an objectionable odor, by the procedures described
below, the Permittee shall:

i

ii.

within 180 days of receipt of written notification from the Director of the requirement to implement maximum
feasible controls, complete the determination process outlined in 15SA NCAC 2D .1807 and submit to the
Director a completed maximum feasible control determination process, a permit application for maximum
feasible controls and a compliance schedule;

within 18 months of receipt of written notification from the Director of the requirement to implement maximum
feasible controls, have installed and begun operating maximum feasible controls.

c. The Director may require the Permittee to implement maximum feasible controls per 15A NCAC 2D .1806(g) if:

i

iii.

a member of the Division staff determines by field investigation that an objectionable odor is present by taking
into account nature, intensity, pervasiveness, duration, and source of the odor and other pertinent factors;

the source or facility emits known odor causing compounds such as ammonia, total volatile organics, hydrogen
sulfide, or other sulfur compounds at levels that cause objectionable odors beyond the property line of that
source or facility; or

the Division receives epidemiological studies associating health problems with odors from the source or facility
or evidence of documented health problems associated with odors from the source or facility provided by the
State Health Director.
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SECTION 3 - GENERAL CONDITIONS (version 3.7 09/21/2015)

This section describes terms and conditions applicable to this Title V facility.

A. General Provisions [NCGS 143-215 and 15A NCAC 2Q .0508(i)(16)]

1. Terms not otherwise defined in this permit shall have the meaning assigned to such terms as defined in 15A NCAC 2D
and 2Q.

2. The terms, conditions, requirements, limitations, and restrictions set forth in this permit are binding and enforceable
pursuant to NCGS 143-215.114A and 143-215.114B, including assessment of civil and/or criminal penalties. Any
unauthorized deviation from the conditions of this permit may constitute grounds for revocation and/or enforcement
action by the DAQ.

3. This permit is not a waiver of or approval of any other Department permits that may be required for other aspects of
the facility which are not addressed in this permit.

4. This permit does not relieve the Permittee from liability for harm or injury to human health or welfare, animal or plant
life, or property caused by the construction or operation of this permitted facility, or from penalties therefore, nor does
it allow the Permittee to cause pollution in contravention of state laws or rules, unless specifically authorized by an
order from the North Carolina Environmental Management Commission.

5. Except as identified as state-only requirements in this permit, all terms and conditions contained herein shall be
enforceable by the DAQ, the EPA, and citizens of the United States as defined in the Federal Clean Air Act.

6. Any stationary source of air pollution shall not be operated, maintained, or modified without the appropriate and valid
permits issued by the DAQ, unless the source is exempted by rule. The DAQ may issue a permit only after it receives
reasonable assurance that the installation will not cause air pollution in violation of any of the applicable requirements.
A permitted installation may only be operated, maintained, constructed, expanded, or modified in a manner that is
consistent with the terms of this permit.

B. Permit Availability [15A NCAC 2Q .0507(k) and .0508(i)(9)(B)]
The Permittee shall have available at the facility a copy of this permit and shall retain for the duration of the permit term
one complete copy of the application and any information submitted in support of the application package. The permit and
application shall be made available to an authorized representative of Department of Environmental Quality upon request.

C. Severability Clause [15SA NCAC 2Q .0508(i)(2)]

In the event of an administrative challenge to a final and binding permit in which a condition is held to be invalid, the
provisions in this permit are severable so that all requirements contained in the permit, except those held to be invalid, shall
remain valid and must be complied with.

D. Submissions [15A NCAC 2Q .0507(e) and 2Q .0508(i)(16)]
Except as otherwise specified herein, two copies of all documents, reports, test data, monitoring data, notifications, request
for renewal, and any other information required by this permit shall be submitted to the appropriate Regional Office. Refer
to the Regional Office address on the cover page of this permit. For continuous emissions monitoring systems (CEMS)
reports, continuous opacity monitoring systems (COMS) reports, quality assurance (QA)/quality control (QC) reports, acid
rain CEM certification reports, and NOx budget CEM certification reports, one copy shall be sent to the appropriate
Regional Office and one copy shall be sent to:

Supervisor, Stationary Source Compliance
North Carolina Division of Air Quality
1641 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, NC 27699-1641

All submittals shall include the facility name and Facility ID number (refer to the cover page of this permit).

E. Duty to Comply [15A NCAC 2Q .0508()(3)]

The Permittee shall comply with all terms, conditions, requirements, limitations and restrictions set forth in this permit.
Noncompliance with any permit condition except conditions identified as state-only requirements constitutes a violation of
the Federal Clean Air Act. Noncompliance with any permit condition is grounds for enforcement action, for permit
termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification, or for denial of a permit renewal application.
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F. Circumvention - STATE ENFORCEABLE ONLY
The facility shall be properly operated and maintained at all times in a manner that will effect an overall reduction in air
pollution. Unless otherwise specified by this permit, no emission source may be operated without the concurrent operation
of its associated air pollution control device(s) and appurtenances.

G. Permit Modifications

1. Administrative Permit Amendments [15A NCAC 2Q .0514]
The Permittee shall submit an application for an administrative permit amendment in accordance with 15SA NCAC 2Q
.0514.

2. Transfer in Ownership or Operation and Application Submittal Content [15A NCAC 2Q .0524 and 2Q .0505]
The Permittee shall submit an application for an ownership change in accordance with 15A NCAC 2Q.0524 and 2Q
.0505.

3. Minor Permit Modifications [15A NCAC 2Q .0515]
The Permittee shall submit an application for a minor permit modification in accordance with 15A NCAC 2Q .0515.

4. Significant Permit Modifications [15A NCAC 2Q .0516]
The Permittee shall submit an application for a significant permit modification in accordance with 15A NCAC 2Q
.0516.

5. Reopening for Cause [1SA NCAC 2Q .0517]
The Permittee shall submit an application for reopening for cause in accordance with 15A NCAC 2Q .0517.

H. Changes Not Requiring Permit Modifications
1. Reporting Requirements
Any of the following that would result in new or increased emissions from the emission source(s) listed in Section 1
must be reported to the Regional Supervisor, DAQ:
a. changes in the information submitted in the application,
b. changes that modify equipment or processes; or
c. changes in the quantity or quality of materials processed.

If appropriate, modifications to the permit may then be made by the DAQ to reflect any necessary changes in the permit
conditions. In no case are any new or increased emissions allowed that will cause a violation of the emission limitations
specified herein,

2. Section 502(b)(10) Changes [15A NCAC 2Q .0523(a)]

a. "Section 502(b)(10) changes" means changes that contravene an express permit term or condition. Such changes
do not include changes that would violate applicable requirements or contravene federally enforceable permit
terms and conditions that are monitoring (including test methods), recordkeeping, reporting, or compliance
certification requirements.

b. The Permittee may make Section 502(b)(10) changes without having the permit revised if:

i.  the changes are not a modification under Title I of the Federal Clean Air Act;
ii. the changes do not cause the allowable emissions under the permit to be exceeded;
iii. the Permittee notifies the Director and EPA with written notification at least seven days before the change is
made; and
iv. the Permittee shall attach the notice to the relevant permit.
c. The written notification shall include:
i.  adescription of the change;
ii, the date on which the change will occur;
iii. any change in emissions; and
iv. any permit term or condition that is no longer applicable as a result of the change.

d.  Section 502(b)(10) changes shall be made in the permit the next time that the permit is revised or renewed,
whichever comes first.

3. Off Permit Changes [15A NCAC 2Q .0523(b)]

The Permittee may make changes in the operation or emissions without revising the permit if:

a. the change affects only insignificant activities and the activities remain insignificant after the change; or

b. the change is not covered under any applicable requirement.
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4. Emissions Trading [15A NCAC 2Q .0523(¢c)]
To the extent that emissions trading is allowed under 15A NCAC 2D, including subsequently adopted maximuin
achievable control technology standards, emissions trading shall be allowed without permit revision pursuant to 15A
NCAC 2Q .0523(c).

I.A. Reporting Requirements for Excess Emissions and Permit Deviations

LB.

[15ANCAC 2D .0535(f) and 2Q .0508(£)(2)]

“Excess Emissions” - means an emission rate that exceeds any applicable emission limitation or standard allowed by any
rule in Sections .0500, .0900, .1200, or .1400 of Subchapter 2D; or by a permit condition; or that exceeds an emission limit
established in a permit issued under 15A NCAC 2Q .0700. (Note: Definitions of excess emissions under 2D .1110 and 2D
1111 shall apply where defined by rule.)

“Deviations” - for the purposes of this condition, any action or condition not in accordance with the terms and conditions of
this permit including those attributable to upset conditions as well as excess emissions as defined above lasting less than
four hours.

Excess Emissions

1. Ifa source is required to report excess emissions under NSPS (15A NCAC 2D .0524), NESHAPS (15A NCAC 2D
1110 or .1111), or the operating permit provides for periodic (e.g., quarterly) reporting of excess emissions, reporting
shall be performed as prescribed therein.

2. Ifthe source is not subject to NSPS (15A NCAC 2D .0524), NESHAPS (15A NCAC 2D .1110 or .1111), or these
rules do NOT define "excess emissions," the Permittee shall report excess emissions in accordance with 15A NCAC
2D .0535 as follows:

a. Pursuant to 15A NCAC 2D .0535, if excess emissions last for more than four hours resulting from a malfunction,
a breakdown of process or control equipment, or any other abnormal condition, the owner or operator shall:
i.  notify the Regional Supervisor or Director of any such occurrence by 9:00 a.m. Eastern Time of the Division's
next business day of becoming aware of the occurrence and provide:

name and location of the facility;

nature and cause of the malfunction or breakdown;

time when the malfunction or breakdown is first observed,

expected duration; and

estimated rate of emissions;

ii. notify the Regional Supervisor or Director immediately when corrective measures have been accomplished;
and

ifi. submit to the Regional Supervisor or Director within 15 days a written report as described in 15A NCAC 2D
0535(H(3).

Permit Deviations
3. Pursuant to 15A NCAC 2Q .0508(f)(2), the Permittee shall report deviations from permit requirements (terms and
conditions) as follows:

a. Notify the Regional Supervisor or Director of all other deviations from permit requirements not covered under
15A NCAC 2D .0535 quarterly. A written report to the Regional Supervisor shall include the probable cause of
such deviation and any corrective actions or preventative actions taken. The responsible official shall certify all
deviations from permit requirements.

Other Requirements under 15A NCAC 2D .0535

The Permittee shall comply with all other applicable requirements contained in 15A NCAC 2D .0535, including 15A

NCAC 2D .0535(c) as follows:

1. Any excess emissions that do not occur during start-up and shut-down shall be considered a violation of the
appropriate rule unless the owner or operator of the sources demonstrates to the Director, that the excess emissions are
a result of a malfunction. The Director shall consider, along with any other pertinent information, the criteria
contained in 15A NCAC 2D .0535(c)(1) through (7).

2. 15ANCAC 2D .0535(g). Excess emissions during start-up and shut-down shall be considered a violation of the
appropriate rule if the owner or operator cannot demonstrate that excess emissions are unavoidable.

Emergency Provisions [40 CFR 70.6(g)]
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The Permittee shall be subject to the following provisions with respect to emergencies:

1. Anemergency means any situation arising from sudden and reasonably unforeseeable events beyond the control of the
facility, including acts of God, which situation requires immediate corrective action to restore normal operation, and
that causes the facility to exceed a technology-based emission limitation under the permit, due to unavoidable increases
in emissions attributable to the emergency. An emergency shall not include noncompliance to the extent caused by
improperly designed equipment, lack of preventive maintenance, careless or improper operation, or operator error.

2. An emergency constitutes an affirmative defense to an action brought for noncompliance with such technology-based
emission limitations if the conditions specified in 3. below are met.

3. The affirmative defense of emergency shall be demonstrated through properly signed contemporaneous operating logs
or other relevant evidence that include information as follows:

a. anemergency occurred and the Permittee can identify the cause(s) of the emergency;

b. the permitted facility was at the time being properly operated;

¢. during the period of the emergency the Permittee took all reasonable steps to minimize levels of emissions that
exceeded the standards or other requirements in the permit; and

d. the Permittee submitted notice of the emergency to the DAQ within two working days of the time when emission
limitations were exceeded due to the emergency. This notice must contain a description of the emergency, steps
taken to mitigate emissions, and corrective actions taken.

4. Inany enforcement proceeding, the Permittee seeking to establish the occurrence of an emergency has the burden of
proof.

5. This provision is in addition to any emergency or upset provision contained in any applicable requirement specified
elsewhere herein.

K. Permit Renewal [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(e) and 2Q .0513(b)]

This 15A NCAC 2Q .0500 permit is issued for a fixed term not to exceed five years and shall expire at the end of its
term. Permit expiration terminates the facility's right to operate unless a complete 15A NCAC 2Q .0500 renewal application
is submitted at least nine months before the date of permit expiration. If the Permittee or applicant has complied with [5A
NCAC 2Q .0512(b)(1), this 15A NCAC 2Q .0500 permit shall not expire until the renewal permit has been issued or denied.
Permit expiration under 15A NCAC 2Q .0400 terminates the facility’s right to operate unless a complete 15A NCAC 2Q
.0400 renewal application is submitted at least six months before the date of permit expiration for facilities subject to 15A
NCAC 2Q .0400 requirements. In either of these events, all terms and conditions of these permits shall remain in effect until
the renewal permits have been issued or denied.

L. Need to Halt or Reduce Activity Not a Defense [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(i)(4)]
It shall not be a defense for a Permittee in an enforcement action that it would have been necessary to halt or reduce the
permitted activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions of this permit.

M. Duty to Provide Information (submittal of information) [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(i)(9)]

1. The Permittee shall furnish to the DAQ, in a timely manner, any reasonable information that the Director may request
in writing to determine whether cause exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating the permit or to
determine compliance with the permit.

2. The Permittee shall furnish the DAQ copies of records required to be kept by the permit when such copies are
requested by the Director. For information claimed to be confidential, the Permittee may furnish such records directly
to the EPA upon request along with a claim of confidentiality.

N. Duty to Supplement [15A NCAC 2Q .0507(f)]

The Permittee, upon becoming aware that any relevant facts were omitted or incorrect information was submitted in the

permit application, shall promptly submit such supplementary facts or corrected information to the DAQ. The Permittee
shall also provide additional information as necessary to address any requirement that becomes applicable to the facility

after the date a complete permit application was submitted but prior to the release of the draft permit.

O. Retention of Records [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(f) and 2Q .0508 ()]
The Permittee shall retain records of all required monitoring data and supporting information for a period of at least five
years from the date of the monitoring sample, measurement, report, or application. Supporting information includes all
calibration and maintenance records and all original strip-chart recordings for continuous monitoring information, and
copies of all reports required by the permit. These records shall be maintained in a form suitable and readily available for
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expeditious inspection and review. Any records required by the conditions of this permit shall be kept on site and made
available to DAQ personnel for inspection upon request.

P. Compliance Certification [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(n)]
The Permittee shall submit to the DAQ and the EPA (Air and EPCRA Enforcement Branch, EPA, Region 4, 61 Forsyth
Street SW, Atlanta, GA 30303) postmarked on or before March 1 a compliance certification (for the preceding calendar
year) by a responsible official with all federally-enforceable terms and conditions in the permit, including emissions
limitations, standards, or work practices. It shall be the responsibility of the current owner to submit a compliance
certification for the entire year regardless of who owned the facility during the year. The compliance certification shall
comply with additional requirements as may be specified under Sections 114(a)(3) or 504(b) of the Federal Clean Air Act.
The compliance certification shall specify:
1.  the identification of each term or condition of the permit that is the basis of the certification,
2. the compliance status (with the terms and conditions of the permit for the period covered by the certification);
3. whether compliance was continuous or intermittent; and
4. the method(s) used for determining the compliance status of the source during the certification period.

Q. Certification by Responsible Official [15A NCAC 2Q .0520]
A responsible official shall certify the truth, accuracy, and completeness of any application form, report, or compliance

certification required by this permit. All certifications shall state that based on information and belief formed after
reasonable inquiry, the statements and information in the document are true, accurate, and complete.

R. Permit Shield for Applicable Requirements [15A NCAC 2Q .0512]

1. Compliance with the terms and conditions of this permit shall be deemed compliance with applicable requirements,
where such applicable requirements are included and specifically identified in the permit as of the date of permit
issuance.

2. A permit shield shall not alter or affect:

a. the power of the Commission, Secretary of the Department, or Governor under NCGS 143-215.3(a)(12), or EPA
under Section 303 of the Federal Clean Air Act;

b. the liability of an owner or operator of a facility for any violation of applicable requirements prior to the effective
date of the permit or at the time of permit issuance;

c. the applicable requirements under Title IV; or

d. the ability of the Director or the EPA under Section 114 of the Federal Clean Air Act to obtain information to
determine compliance of the facility with its permit.

3. Apermit shield does not apply to any change made at a facility that does not require a permit or permit revision made
under 15A NCAC 2Q .0523.

4. A permit shield does not extend to minor permit modifications made under 15A NCAC 2Q .0515.

S. Termination, Modification, and Revecation of the Permit [15A NCAC 2Q) .0519]
The Director may terminate, modify, or revoke and reissue this permit if:
the information contained in the application or presented in support thereof is determined to be incorrect;
the conditions under which the permit or permit renewal was granted have changed;
violations of conditions contained in the permit have occurred,;
the EPA requests that the permit be revoked under 40 CFR 70.7(g) or 70.8(d); or
the Director finds that termination, modification, or revocation and reissuance of the permit is necessary to carry out
the purpose of NCGS Chapter 143, Article 21B.

Sl

T. Insignificant Activities [15A NCAC 2Q .0503]
Because an emission source or activity is insignificant does not mean that the emission source or activity is exempted from
any applicable requirement or that the owner or operator of the source is exempted from demonstrating compliance with
any applicable requirement. The Permittee shall have available at the facility at all times and made available to an
authorized representative upon request, documentation, including calculations, if necessary, to demonstrate that an emission
source or activity is insignificant.

U. Property Rights [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(i)(8)]

This permit does not convey any property rights in either real or personal property or any exclusive privileges.



Permit 05896T24
Page 24

V. Inspection and Entry [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(1) and NCGS 143-215.3(a)(2)]

1. Upon presentation of credentials and other documents as may be required by law, the Permittee shall allow the DAQ,
or an authorized representative, to perform the following;

a. enter the Permittee's premises where the permitted facility is located or emissions-related activity is conducted, or
where records are kept under the conditions of the permit;

b. have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records that are required to be kept under the conditions of the
permit;

c. inspect at reasonable times and using reasonable safety practices any source, equipment (including monitoring and
air pollution control equipment), practices, or operations regulated or required under the permit; and

d. sample or monitor substances or parameters, using reasonable safety practices, for the purpose of assuring
compliance with the permit or applicable requirements at reasonable times.

Nothing in this condition shall limit the ability of the EPA to inspect or enter the premises of the Permittee under

Section 114 or other provisions of the Federal Clean Air Act.

2. No person shall refuse entry or access to any authorized representative of the DAQ who requests entry for purposes of
inspection, and who presents appropriate credentials, nor shall any person obstruct, hamper, or interfere with any such
authorized representative while in the process of carrying out his official duties. Refusal of entry or access may
constitute grounds for permit revocation and assessment of civil penalties.

W. Annual Fee Payment [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(i)(10)]
1. The Permittee shall pay all fees in accordance with 15A NCAC 2Q .0200.
2. Payment of fees may be by check or money order made payable to the N.C. Department of Environmental Quality.
Annual permit fee payments shall refer to the permit number.
3. If, within 30 days after being billed, the Permittee fails to pay an annual fee, the Director may initiate action to
terminate the permit under 15A NCAC 2Q) .0519.

X. Annual Emission Inventory Requirements [15A NCAC 2Q .0207]
The Permittee shall report by June 30 of each year the actual emissions of each air pollutant listed in 15A NCAC 2Q
.0207(a) from each emission source within the facility during the previous calendar year. The report shall be in or on such
form as may be established by the Director. The accuracy of the report shall be certified by a responsible official of the
facility.

Y. Confidential Information [15A NCAC 2Q .0107 and 2Q. 0508(i)(9)]
Whenever the Permittee submits information under a claim of confidentiality pursuant to 15A NCAC 2Q .0107, the
Permittee may also submit a copy of all such information and claim directly to the EPA upon request. All requests for
confidentiality must be in accordance with 15A NCAC 2Q .0107.

Z. Construction and Operation Permits [15A NCAC 2Q .0100 and .0300]
A construction and operating permit shall be obtained by the Permittee for any proposed new or modified facility or
emission source which is not exempted from having a permit prior to the beginning of construction or modification, in
accordance with all applicable provisions of 15A NCAC 2Q .0100 and .0300.

AA. Standard Application Form and Required Information [15SA NCAC 2Q .0505 and .0507]
The Permittee shall submit applications and required information in accordance with the provisions of 15A NCAC 2Q
.0505 and .0507.

BB. Financial Responsibility and Compliance History [15A NCAC 2Q .0507(d)(4)]

The DAQ may require an applicant to submit a statement of financial qualifications and/or a statement of substantial
compliance history.

CC. Refrigerant Requirements (Stratospheric Ozone and Climate Protection) [15A NCAC 2Q .0501(e}]
1. Ifthe Permittee has appliances or refrigeration equipment, including air conditioning equipment, which use Class I or
IT ozone-depleting substances such as chlorofluorocarbons and hydrochlorofluorocarbons listed as refrigerants in 40
CFR Part 82 Subpart A Appendices A and B, the Permittee shall service, repair, and maintain such equipment
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according to the work practices, personnel certification requirements, and certified recycling and recovery equipment
specified in 40 CFR Part 82 Subpart F.

2. The Permittee shall not knowingly vent or otherwise release any Class I or II substance into the environment during the
repair, servicing, maintenance, or disposal of any such device except as provided in 40 CFR Part 82 Subpart F.

3. The Permittee shall comply with all reporting and recordkeeping requirements of 40 CFR [ ! 82.166. Reports shall be
submitted to the EPA or its designee as required.

DD. Prevention of Accidental Releases - Section 112(r) [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(h)]
If the Permittee is required to develop and register a Risk Management Plan with EPA pursuant to Section 112(r) of the
Clean Air Act, then the Permittee is required to register this plan in accordance with 40 CFR Part 68.

EE. Prevention of Accidental Releases General Duty Clause - Section 112(r)(1) -
FEDERALLY-ENFORCEABLE ONLY
Although a risk management plan may not be required, if the Permittee produces, processes, handles, or stores any amount
of a listed hazardous substance, the Permittee has a general duty to take such steps as are necessary to prevent the accidental
release of such substance and to minimize the consequences of any release.

FF. Title IV Allowances [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(i)(1)]
This permit does not limit the number of Title IV allowances held by the Permittee, but the Permittee may not use
allowances as a defense to noncompliance with any other applicable requirement. The Permittee’s emissions may not
exceed any allowances that the facility lawfully holds under Title IV of the Federal Clean Air Act.

GG. Air Pollution Emergency Episode [15A NCAC 2D .0300]
Should the Director of the DAQ declare an Air Pollution Emergency Episode, the Permittee will be required to operate in

accordance with the Permittee’s previously approved Emission Reduction Plan or, in the absence of an approved plan, with
the appropriate requirements specified in 15A NCAC 2D .0300.

HH.Registration of Air Pollution Sources [15A NCAC 2D .0202]
The Director of the DAQ may require the Permittee to register a source of air pollution. If the Permittee is required to
register a source of air pollution, this registration and required information will be in accordance with 15A NCAC 2D
.0202(b).

II. Ambient Air Quality Standards [15A NCAC 2D .0501(c)]

In addition to any control or manner of operation necessary to meet emission standards specified in this permit, any source
of air pollution shall be operated with such control or in such manner that the source shall not cause the ambient air quality
standards in 15A NCAC 2D .0400 to be exceeded at any point beyond the premises on which the source is located. When
controls more stringent than named in the applicable emission standards in this permit are required to prevent violation of
the ambient air quality standards or are required to create an offset, the permit shall contain a condition requiring these
controls.

JJ. General Emissions Testing and Reporting Requirements [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(i)(16)]

Emission compliance testing shall be by the procedures of Section .2600, except as may be otherwise required in Rules

0524, .0912, .1110, .1111, or .1415 of Subchapter 2D. If emissions testing is required by this permit or the DAQ or if the

Permittee submits emissions testing to the DAQ to demonstrate compliance, the Permittee shall perform such testing in

accordance with 15A NCAC 2D .2600 and follow the procedures outlined below:

1. The owner or operator of the source shall arrange for air emission testing protocols to be provided to the Director
prior to air pollution testing. Testing protocols are not required to be pre-approved by the Director prior to air
pollution testing. The Director shall review air emission testing protocols for pre-approval prior to testing if
requested by the owner or operator at least 45 days before conducting the test.

2. Any person proposing to conduct an emissions test to demonstrate compliance with an applicable standard shall
notify the Director at least 15 days before beginning the test so that the Director may at his option observe the test.

3. The owner or operator of the source shall arrange for controlling and measuring the production rates during the
period of air testing. The owner or operator of the source shall ensure that the equipment or process being tested is
operated at the production rate that best fulfills the purpose of the test. The individual conducting the emission test
shall describe the procedures used to obtain accurate process data and include in the test report the average
production rates determined during each testing period.
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4. Two copies of the final air emission test report shall be submitted to the Director not later than 30 days after sample
collection unless otherwise specified in the specific conditions. The owner or operator may request an extension to
submit the final test report. The Director shall approve an extension request if he finds that the extension request is a
result of actions beyond the control of the owner or operator.

a. The Director shall make the final determination regarding any testing procedure deviation and the validity of
the compliance test. The Director may:

(1) Allow deviations from a method specified under a rule in this Section if the owner or operator of the source
being tested demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Director that the specified method is inappropriate for
the source being tested.

(2) Prescribe alternate test procedures on an individual basis when he finds that the alternative method is
necessary to secure more reliable test data.

(3) Prescribe or approve methods on an individual basis for sources or pollutants for which no test method is
specified in this Section if the methods can be demonstrated to determine compliance of permitted
emission sources or pollutants.

b. The Director may authorize the Division of Air Quality to conduct independent tests of any source subject to a
rule in this Subchapter to determine the compliance status of that source or to verify any test data submitted
relating to that source. Any test conducted by the Division of Air Quality using the appropriate testing
procedures described in Section 2D .2600 has precedence over all other tests.

KK.Reopening for Cause [15A NCAC 2Q .0517]

LL.

1. A permit shall be reopened and revised under the following circumstances:

a. additional applicable requirements become applicable to a facility with remaining permit term of three or more
years;

b. additional requirements (including excess emission requirements) become applicable to a source covered by Title
1V,

¢. the Director or EPA finds that the permit contains a material mistake or that inaccurate statements were made in
establishing the emissions standards or other terms or conditions of the permit; or

d. the Director or EPA determines that the permit must be revised or revoked to assure compliance with the
applicable requirements.

2. Any permit reopening shall be completed or a revised permit issued within 18 months after the applicable requirement
is promulgated. No reopening is required if the effective date of the requirement is after the expiration of the permit
term unless the term of the permit was extended pursuant to 15A NCAC 2Q .0513(c).

3. Except for the state-enforceable only portion of the permit, the procedures set out in 15A NCAC 2Q .0507, .0521, or
.0522 shall be followed to reissue the permit. If the State-enforceable only portion of the permit is reopened, the
procedures in 15A NCAC 2Q .0300 shall be followed. The proceedings shall affect only those parts of the permit for
which cause to reopen exists.

4. The Director shall notify the Permittee at least 60 days in advance of the date that the permit is to be reopened, except
in cases of imminent threat to public health or safety the notification period may be less than 60 days.

5. Within 90 days, or 180 days if the EPA extends the response period, after receiving notification from the EPA that a
permit needs to be terminated, modified, or revoked and reissued, the Director shall send to the EPA a proposed
determination of termination, modification, or revocation and reissuance, as appropriate.

Reporting Requirements for Non-Operating Equipment [15A NCAC 2Q .0508(i)(16)]

The Permittee shall maintain a record of operation for permitted equipment noting whenever the equipment is taken from
and placed into operation. During operation the monitoring recordkeeping and reporting requirements as prescribed by the
permit shall be implemented within the monitoring period.

MM. Fugitive Dust Control Requirement [15A NCAC 2D .0540] - STATE ENFORCEABLE ONLY

As required by 15A NCAC 2D .0540 "Particulates from Fugitive Dust Emission Sources," the Permittee shall not cause or
allow fugitive dust emissions to cause or contribute to substantive complaints or excess visible emissions beyond the
property boundary. If substantive complaints or excessive fugitive dust emissions from the facility are observed beyond the
property boundaries for six minutes in any one hour (using Reference Method 22 in 40 CFR, Appendix A), the owner or
operator may be required to submit a fugitive dust plan as described in 2D .0540(%).

"Fugitive dust emissions" means particulate matter from process operations that does not pass through a process stack or
vent and that is generated within plant property boundaries from activities such as: unloading and loading areas, process
areas stockpiles, stock pile working, plant parking lots, and plant roads (including access roads and haul roads).
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NN. Specific Permit Modifications [15A NCAC 2Q.0501 and .0523]

1.

For modifications made pursuant to 15A NCAC 2Q .0501(c)(2), the Permittee shall file a Title V Air Quality Permit
Application for the air emission source(s) and associated air pollution control device(s) on or before 12 months after
commencing operation.

For modifications made pursuant to 15A NCAC 2Q .0501(d)(2), the Permittee shall not begin operation of the air
emission source(s) and associated air pollution control device(s) until a Title V Air Quality Permit Application is
filed and a construction and operation permit following the procedures of Section .0500 (except for Rule .0504 of
this Section) is obtained.

For modifications made pursuant to 502(b)(10), in accordance with 15A NCAC 2Q .0523(a)(1)(C), the Permittee
shall notify the Director and EPA (EPA - Air Planning Branch, 61 Forsyth Street SW, Atlanta, GA 30303) in
writing at least seven days before the change is made. The written notification shall include:

a. a description of the change at the facility;

b. the date on which the change will occur;

c. any change in emissions; and

d. any permit term or condition that is no longer applicable as a result of the change.

In addition to this notification requirement, with the next significant modification or Air Quality Permit renewal, the
Permittee shall submit a page "E5" of the application forms signed by the responsible official verifying that the
application for the 502(b)(10) change/modification, is true, accurate, and complete. Further note that modifications
made pursuant to 502(b)(10) do not relieve the Permittee from satisfying preconstruction requirements.

OO. Third Party Participation and EPA Review [15A NCAC 2Q .0521, .0522 and .0525(7)]

For permits modifications subject to 45-day review by the federal Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), EPA’s
decision to not object to the proposed permit is considered final and binding on the EPA and absent a third party
petition, the failure to object is the end of EPA's decision-making process with respect to the revisions to the permit. The
time period available to submit a public petition pursuant to 15A NCAC 2Q .0518 begins at the end of the 45-day EPA
review period.
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ATTACHMENT

List of Acronyms

AOS Alternate Operating Scenario

BACT Best Available Control Technology

Btu British thermal unit

CEM Continuous Emission Monitor

CFR Code of Federal Regulations

CAA Clean Air Act

CAIR Clean Air Interstate Rule

DAQ Division of Air Quality

DEQ Department of Environmental Quality
EMC Environmental Management Commission
EPA Environmental Protection Agency

FR Federal Register

GACT Generally Available Control Technology
HAP Hazardous Air Pollutant

MACT Maximum Achievable Control Technology
NAA Non-Attainment Area

NCAC North Carolina Administrative Code
NCGS North Carolina General Statutes
NESHAPS  National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants
NOx Nitrogen Oxides

NSPS New Source Performance Standard

OAH Office of Administrative Hearings

PM Particulate Matter

PMio Particulate Matter with Nominal Aerodynamic Diameter of 10 Micrometers or Less
POS Primary Operating Scenario

PSD Prevention of Significant Deterioration
RACT Reasonably Available Control Technology
SIC Standard Industrial Classification

SIP State Implementation Plan

SO: Sulfur Dioxide

tpy Tons Per Year

vVOC Volatile Organic Compound



